School Committee

School Committee Photo
From left to right: Meaghan Schoff, Meredith Schmid, Julie Eneman, Brenda Alexander, Dave Herbein

School Committee:

David Herbein, Chair FY21 (Term Expires 2023)

Brenda Alexander, Vice-Chair FY21 (Term Expires 2022)

Julie Eneman (Term Expires 2021)

Meredith Schmid (Term Expires 2022)

Meaghan Schoff (Term Expires 2021)

Do you have a question for the School Committee? Ask it here.

District Administrators

Lou Goscinski, Superintendent of Schools

Zak Harding, Business Administrator

Anita Bernhardt, Assistant Superintendent of Schools

Rosalyn Moriarty, Director of Special Education

Eric Lawson, Director of Technology and Libraries


The School Committee welcomes you to attend our meetings. We appreciate visitors from the public and trust your attendance will be beneficial to both you and us. We feel it is very important for interested persons to know about the workings of our school department and for us to be aware of what is important to the community of York. You are invited to participate in the meeting in accordance with the policy and rules established by the committee.


The York Schools - in partnership with students, families, and the community - are dedicated to educating, inspiring, and challenging all students to be life-long learners and ethical citizens prepared to contribute to a changing and complex world.

Core Beliefs

We believe in providing each student with the opportunity to develop, to his or her fullest potential, in an academically challenging, supportive, and safe environment. Our graduates will leave able to demonstrate and apply essential knowledge and skills across a content-rich curriculum with literacy and numeracy as cornerstones.

School Committee Duties and Responsibilities

Maine State law charges school boards with the responsibility to "manage the schools." This is done essentially by selecting a superintendent and providing him/her with the authority and direction. It is not the duty of the committee to operate the schools but to see that they are well operated.

The committee concerns itself primarily with broad questions of policy rather than with administrative details. The application of policies is an administrative task to be performed by the superintendent and their staff, who shall be held responsible for the effective administration and supervision of the entire school department.

Members of the committee have authority only when acting as a committee legally in session. The committee shall not be bound in any way by an action or statement of an individual member except when such statement or action is pursuant to specific instructions of the committee.

Committee Meetings

The York School Committee meets at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Wednesday of each month at the York Public Library (meetings are currently live-streamed). Agendas are prepared by the Superintendent and Committee Chair, are published at least three weekdays in advance of each meeting, are available at the Superintendent’s Office and posted on the department’s website.

Standard Committee Agenda:

    • Call to Order
    • Recognitions
    • Pledge of Allegiance
    • Approval of Minutes
    • Communications: School Committee/Superintendent
    • Comments from the Public on Agenda Items
    • New Business
    • Administrators' Reports
    • Old and Unfinished Business
    • Public Comments
    • Adjournment

In accordance with the Freedom of Access ("Right-to-Know") law, committee meetings are held in public. The committee may go into private or executive session, upon vote of 3/5 of the members present for consideration of certain matters specified in the law (such as personnel, student suspension/expulsion, contracts to be negotiated, collective bargaining, legal advice or pending litigation). No final action may be taken in executive session.

Public Participation Policy

Although School Committee meetings are not public forums, the School Committee will provide appropriate opportunities for citizens to express opinions and concerns related to matters concerning education and the York School Department schools.

There are two opportunities for public comment shown on our standard agenda above. The first is for comments and concerns from the public related to matters under consideration by the committee as listed on the meeting’s agenda. The second public comment opportunity is for other topics of areas of concern not listed on the meeting’s agenda. The following guidelines will be followed during both public comment agenda items:

  • The number of speakers and the time each speaks may be limited.
  • In the case of a large audience, speakers may be asked to sign up before the meeting so they may be called on most expediently.
  • Anyone with a legitimate interest in the committee’s business may speak.
  • Employees or employee groups will not be permitted to discuss matters for which other, more appropriate forums are provided.
  • All speakers are asked to identify themselves.
  • Gossip, defamatory comments, or abusive or vulgar language will not be permitted.
  • Speakers must address all comments and questions to the chair.
  • Comments will be heard and considered.
  • Generally, the committee does not discuss or act on an item not on the agenda.
  • No complaints or allegations will be allowed in public concerning any staff member or any person connected to the school department.
  • Speakers are asked not to be repetitious of comments already made to the committee, in the interests of most efficient use of time.
  • The primary purpose of the meeting is for the committee to conduct its business as charged by law.
  • Spontaneous discussion, as well as disorder and disruption, prevent the committee from doing its work and will not be permitted.

More information on public participation is found in School Committee Policy BEDH

Thank you for your cooperation.

Affirmative Action/Nondiscrimination

It is the policy of this school system not to discriminate in educational programs, activities or employment practices on the basis of race, national origin, religion, sex, age, or handicapping conditions under the provisions of Titles VI and IX of the 1972 Educational Amendments, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Individuals with Disability Education Act of 1990, and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

The Affirmative Action Plan, as approved by the board and submitted to the Commissioner of Education, is on file in the Superintendent's Office. The Affirmative Action Officer is Anita Bernhardt (